A user manual for me V2.0

Andy Callow
3 min readOct 13, 2019

[This version has now been deprecated — please see User Manual V3.0]

This is an upgrade on the previous version. Backwards compatibility is not guaranteed.

Conditions I like to work in

  • I find it hard to work in hot rooms, and love fresh air (windows open etc).
  • I don’t care about a fixed desk. I just need a fast laptop, my headphones and an internet connection. If it is a standing desk, all the better.
  • I like to have large screen real estate. The more monitors I have, the more productive I feel.

The times/hours I like to work

  • I live in Derbyshire and commute to Kettering on the train and drive to Northampton. I do some of my most productive work whilst on the train, albeit with sadly limited screen real estate (see above)
  • If I need to do work that requires detailed concentration, I do that best in the mornings
  • I normally get on the train at 06:13 and will normally be working from 06:30 through to 18:40/19:30 on the days I commute (time difference is depends on which train I catch). When I’m driving I set off from home before 6am — so there’s about 90 mins when you can guarantee to be able to ring me!
  • I find my commute is more sustainable if I can work from home one day a week
  • I don’t mind being contacted at any time

The best ways to communicate with me

  • I’m happy to use a mix of communication methods (face-to-face, phone, email, Teams, WhatsApp)
  • I try and keep on top of my emails each week and usually respond within a few days at the latest, but this is becoming an increasing challenge.
  • I try and keep my door open as much as I can. I like people popping their head round the door for a chat, on the understanding that I may defer them until a bit later.

The ways I like to receive feedback

  • I like receiving feedback face-to-face
  • I see all feedback as a learning opportunity so I like any feedback to include examples and also suggestions on how I / it could be better/different

Things I need

  • Opportunities to collaborate and co-create stuff.
  • Smart people to bounce ideas off who are happy to disagree with me in a constructive way.
  • To working with people who do stuff (not just talk about doing stuff).
  • Good collaboration tools.
  • Being able to deliver, little, often and iterate.
  • The ability to work from home one day a week.
  • Did I mention lots of screen real estate?

Things I struggle with

  • Meetings where everyone doesn’t get their voice heard — some of us need to reflect a bit before giving our views.
  • An environment where people talk behind each others backs.
  • Collaborating on a document via email attachments. Does. My. Head. In.
  • Social events where the focus is solely on alcohol consumption.
  • People who treat me differently due to hierarchy.
  • Unkindness.

Things I love

  • Sharing learning (either imparting or receiving). Books are my main source of substantive learning.
  • Signs of continuous improvement.
  • Being around creative, innovative people and trying to create the environment where they can try things out.
  • Blogging and sharing my thoughts on Twitter.

Other things to know about me

  • I aim to stay true to my 14 year old-self who discovered electronics and fell in love with the possibilities that technology can offer.
  • I love coffee, but try and stay off caffeine.

Leadership Style

--

--

Andy Callow

Husband. Dad to 3 smashing lads. Cub Leader. MAMIL. CDIO for Nottingham University Hospitals. Ex UHN and NHS Digital. Views own. Always learning.