A user manual for me

  • I like to have large screen real estate. The more monitors I have, the happier I am.
  • I find it hard to work in hot rooms, and love fresh air (windows open etc).
  • I don’t care about a fixed desk. I just need a fast laptop, my headphones and an internet connection.
  • I live in Derbyshire and commute to Leeds/London on the train. I do some of my most productive work whilst travelling, albeit with sadly limited screen real estate (see above)
  • If I need to do work that requires detailed concentration, I do that best in the mornings
  • I normally work 7am to 6pm on the days I commute
  • I find my commute is more sustainable if I can work from home one day a week
  • I don’t mind being contacted at any time
  • My diary is open and accessible so everyone can see my availability. I don’t mind people booking things in my diary if I am free
  • I’m happy to use a mix of communication methods (face-to-face, phone, email, Slack, Skype, WhatsApp)
  • I keep on top of my emails each week and usually respond within a few days at the latest.
  • I like receiving feedback face-to-face
  • I see all feedback as a learning opportunity so I like any feedback to include examples and also suggestions on how I / it could be better/different
  • Opportunities to collaborate and co-create stuff.
  • Smart people to bounce ideas off who are happy to disagree with me in a constructive way.
  • Working with people who do stuff (not just talk about doing stuff).
  • Good collaboration tools.
  • Being able to deliver, little, often and iterate.
  • The ability to work from home one day a week.
  • Did I mention lots of screen real estate?
  • Meetings where everyone doesn’t get their voice heard — some of us need to reflect a bit before giving our views.
  • An environment where people talk behind each others backs.
  • Collaborating on a document via email attachments. My blood will boil.
  • Social events where the focus is solely on alcohol consumption.
  • People who treat me differently due to hierarchy.
  • Unkindness.
  • Blogging and sharing my thoughts on Twitter.
  • Sharing learning (either imparting or receiving).
  • Signs of continuous improvement.
  • Being around creative, innovative people and trying to create the environment where they can try things out.
  • I aim to stay true to my 14 year old-self who discovered electronics and realised the possibilities that lay ahead.
  • I love coffee, but try and stay off caffeine.

--

--

--

Husband. Dad to 3 smashing lads. Cub Leader. MAMIL. Group CDIO for Northampton and Kettering Hospitals. Ex NHS Digital. Views own. Always learning.

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

Inside Goodify’s design sprint — overcoming barriers to user engagement

Meet the Alumni: Pat Hwang talks about his journey from studying Design Computing to working at…

Case study: Order & Eat., Swiggy or Zomato? : EP 5

From Shedserver To The Shedtronic Workshop

Greyhound, it’s time for a makeover.

How to Effectively Incorporate Animation in Your Mobile App Design

ARCHITECTURE

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Andy Callow

Andy Callow

Husband. Dad to 3 smashing lads. Cub Leader. MAMIL. Group CDIO for Northampton and Kettering Hospitals. Ex NHS Digital. Views own. Always learning.

More from Medium

My Personal Goals for 2022

Photo of a goal at the Jakemans Community Stadium — home of Boston United

Dialogue Should Be A Habit Not An Intervention

When improvising works just as well or if not even better

Weeknotes 1 — Sharon, Gwyneth and Bernd